Stop-off … Cultural

You want to escape a weekend or more. Let yourself be guided to not miss the wonders of our territory.

First day

In an exceptional green setting on the edge of the Cure, discover the Cistercian Abbey of Reigny. It was founded in 1128 and was very powerful and prosperous in the Middle Ages. A must see: its exceptional refectory of the fourteenth century (there are only three examples in France!).

Do not miss, his festival “the four seasons of Reigny Abbey”. A new show every season around the following themes: theater, voice, jazz and classical.

> See the Abbey of Reigny

Stroll a few moments in the village of Sacy where was born the famous writer Nicolas Edme Restif de la Bretonne.

> Further information

Stroll through the alleys of Cravant this medieval village was one of the most important ports of the Yonne. Admire the imposing fortress 25 meters high which dominates the village (it is the dungeon which was in turn prison, watchtower, residence seigneuriale), its half-timbered houses, its old ramparts, its doors. Discover the history of this charming city on tablet or smartphone via the free application GUIDIGO (tablet rental at the tourist information office of Cravant).

> Further information

Take a gourmet break at the Hostellerie de la Fontaine in Deux-Rivières-Accolay. In a 17th century vault, the chef will serve you a Burgundy and gastronomic cooking in respect of seasonal products.

> Find all restaurants

Give yourself some time to relax as you stroll along the Nivernais Canal. Originally built to facilitate the floating of wood from Clamecy to Paris, the Nivernais Canal was an important axis of communication that contributed to the economic development of the region. It facilitated the transportation of food and materials until the arrival of the railroad in the nineteenth century. It is today exclusively reserved for boating.

Discover the national park of Bois du Parc. This site offers diversity in terms of flora, fauna and geology. The visit is made on foot thanks to a discovery trail that crosses between forests and lawns cliff tops.

> Further information

Owned by the Counts of Béru since the 17th century, the Castle of Béru dominates the vineyards of Chablis. At the heart of this complex is the “Clos Béru”, unique terroir, closed by historic walls erected in the 13th century. It is in these places full of history that you take possession of your bed and breakfast. The evening continues in the old stables of the castle where you will enjoy beautiful gourmet plates composed of cold meats, goat cheese and homemade terrines.

> Find all accommodation

Your evening ends with a music concert at the Chablis Festival. Many festivals animate the territory during the beautiful season (Festival of Sacred Arts in Pontigny, Chablis Festival Bouge ton Cru in Chablis …).

> See all the events

Second day

In Beines at the Alain Geoffroy domain, push the door of the astonishing museum of the vine and the corkscrew where a collection of corkscrews more original than the others awaits you as well as a multitude of objects of the vine and wine.

> Further information

Visit the Obédiencerie former monastery of the monks of Saint Martin and historic house of the Laroche estate. This visit offers a real immersion into the history of Chablis. Admire these magnificent cellars of the 9th and 12th century and 13th century press. At the end of the visit you will discover the wines of the estate.

> Further information

At the doors of the Chablis vineyard in Ligny-le-Châtel, a charming Burgundy village bordered by the river Le Serein, you have lunch at the Relais Saint-Vincent former residence of the Bailli at Ligny-le-Châtel or the Auberge du Bief. An authentic discovery of the Burgundy terroir and its tasty specialties …

> Find all restaurants

On the way to visit the Abbey of Pontigny built in the twelfth century, a building unique by its size and its style. Its abbey is the largest Cistercian building of the Middle Ages preserved intact today. You can discover places to visit freely or choose to make a guided tour with the association The Friends of Pontigny or with Amandine Chevallier of Mise en Art. Take a walk through the gardens where only the singing of birds breaks the soothing silence that reigns here. The purity of the stone and the austerity of the place perfectly illustrate the Cistercian order.

It is also in Pontigny that the Aléonard Tilery is specialized in the tile of “Historical Monuments”. One-off visits are organized (by reservation).

Artisans and artists are many on the territory (artists photographers, painters, sculptors, do not hesitate to push the doors of their workshops. List on request at the Tourist Office).

> See the Abbey of Pontigny

Go through Venouse to visit the Barn of Beauvais. The monastery of the Abbey of Pontigny had an important property inheritance whose essential is regrouped in “cellars” and “barns”. These were inhabited and enhanced by the lay brothers. An association “the barn of Beauvais” ensures the restoration and animation of the place. A garden of medieval inspiration, a conservatory of the vine such are, among others, his projects that will soon see the day.

> Further information

Discover Chablis with its historic circuit marked on the ground.
Take with you during your visit the guide “Once upon a time … the history of Chablis” and follow the arrow! You will discover the magnificent Collegiate Church of Saint-Martin (thirteenth century) whose southern door of Romanesque character is covered with a hundred horseshoes, you will learn that in 1478 was created in Chablis one of the first five French printing houses, you will visit the beautifully restored Synagogue and become a place of worship. You will learn that the Porte Noël takes its name from the mason who built it or even that once the city counted twenty-nine towers, three draw bridges, three posterns. Booklet on sale at the Tourist Office.

> Further information

Your evening ends with a gourmet dinner at the Hostellerie des Clos, a beautiful step in the heart of the vineyards of Chablis.

> Find all restaurants

Discover all the wealths of our territory

Escale … Culturelle

Vous avez envie de vous évader un week-end ou plus. Laissez-vous guider pour ne rien rater
des merveilles dont regorge notre territoire.

Le 1er jour

Dans un exceptionnel cadre de verdure, en bordure de la Cure, découvrez l’Abbaye Cistercienne de Reigny. Celle-ci fut fondée en 1128 et fut très puissante et prospère au Moyen Age. A voir absolument :  son exceptionnel réfectoire du XIVe siècle (il n’en reste que trois exemples en France !).

Ne ratez pas, son festival « les quatre saisons de l’abbaye de Reigny ». Un nouveau spectacle à chaque saison autour des thèmes suivants : le théâtre, la voix, le jazz et le classique.

> Visiter l’Abbaye de Reigny

Flânez quelques instants dans le village de Sacy où est né le célèbre écrivain Nicolas Edme Restif de la Bretonne.

Baladez-vous dans les ruelles de Cravant, ce bourg médiéval était l’un des plus importants ports de l’Yonne. Admirez l’imposante forteresse haute de 25 mètres qui domine le village (c’est le donjon qui fut tour à tour prison, tour de guet, résidence seigneuriale), ses maisons à pans de bois, ses anciens remparts, ses portes. Découvrez l’histoire de cette charmante cité sur tablette ou smartphone via l’application gratuite GUIDIGO (location de tablettes au bureau d’information touristique de Cravant).

> Découverte de Cavant avec Guidigo
> Cité médiévale de Cravant

Faites une pause gourmande à l’Hostellerie de la Fontaine à Deux-Rivières-Accolay. Dans un caveau du XVIIe siècle, le chef vous servira une cuisine bourguignonne et gastronomique dans le respect des produits de saison.

> Hostellerie de la Fontaine d’Accolay
> Retrouver tous les restaurants

Accordez-vous une pause détente en vous baladant le long du Canal du Nivernais. Construit au départ pour faciliter le flottage du bois de Clamecy vers Paris, le canal du Nivernais fut un important axe de communication qui contribua au développement économique de la région. Il facilitait le transport des denrées alimentaires et des matériaux jusqu’à l’arrivée du chemin de fer au XIXe siècle. Il est aujourd’hui exclusivement réservé à la navigation de plaisance.

Découvrez la réserve naturelle nationale du Bois du Parc. Ce site offre une diversité tant sur le plan de la flore, de la faune que de la géologie. La visite s’effectue à pied grâce à un sentier de découverte qui chemine entre forêts et pelouses des hauts de falaise.

> Plus d’informations sur la réserve naturelle du bois du parc

Propriété des Comtes de Béru depuis le XVIIe s, le Château de Béru domine le vignoble de Chablis. Au cœur de cet ensemble se trouve « le Clos Béru », terroir unique, clos de murs historiques érigés au XIIIe s. C’est dans ces lieux chargés d’Histoire que vous prenez possession de votre chambre d’hôtes. La soirée se poursuit dans les anciennes écuries du château où vous dégustez de belles assiettes gourmandes composées de charcuteries, fromages de chèvre et terrines maison.

> Visiter le château de Béru
> Retrouver Les Chambres d’hôtes du château
> Retrouver tous les hébergements

Votre soirée s’achève par un concert de musique proposé dans le cadre du Festival du Chablisien. De nombreux festivals animent le territoire lors de la belle saison (Festival des Arts Sacrés à Pontigny, Festival Chablis Bouge ton Cru à Chablis…).

> Voir tous les événements

Le 2e jour

A Beines, au Domaine Alain Geoffroy, poussez la porte de l’étonnant musée de la vigne et du tire-bouchon où une collection de tire-bouchons tous plus originaux les uns que les autres vous attend ainsi qu’une multitude d’objets de la vigne et du vin.

> Visiter le musée de la vigne et du tire-bouchon

Visitez l’Obédiencerie, ancien monastère des moines de Saint Martin et maison historique du Domaine Laroche. Cette visite offre une véritable plongée dans l’histoire de Chablis. Admirez ces magnifiques caves des IXe s et XIIe s et pressoir du XIIIe s. A l’issue de la visite, vous découvrirez les vins du domaine.

> Le Domaine Laroche
> Retrouver tous les domaines

Aux portes du vignoble de Chablis, à Ligny-le-Châtel, charmant village bourguignon bordé par la rivière Le Serein, vous déjeunez au Relais Saint-Vincent, ancienne résidence du Bailli de Ligny-le-Châtel ou à l’Auberge du Bief. Une découverte authentique du terroir bourguignon et de ses savoureuses spécialités …

>Voir le Relais Saint-Vincent
> Retrouver tous les restaurants

En route pour la visite de l’abbaye de Pontigny construite au XIIe s, un édifice unique tant par sa taille que par son style. Son abbatiale est le plus grand édifice cistercien du Moyen Age conservé intact de nos jours. Vous pourrez découvrir les lieux en visite libre ou choisir de faire une visite guidée avec l’association Les Amis de Pontigny ou avec Amandine Chevallier de Mise en Art. Faites un tour par les jardins où seul le chant des oiseaux vient rompre le silence apaisant qui règne ici. La pureté de la pierre et l’austérité du lieu illustrent parfaitement l’ordre cistercien.

C’est aussi à Pontigny que se trouve la Tuilerie Aléonard spécialisée dans la tuile des « Monuments historiques ». Des visites ponctuelles sont organisées (sur réservation).

Les artisans d’art et les artistes sont nombreux sur le territoire (artistes photographes, peintres, sculpteurs, n’hésitez pas à pousser les portes de leurs ateliers. Liste sur demande à l’Office de Tourisme).

> Visiter la tuilerie d’Aléonard
> Se rendre à l’Abbaye de Pontigny

Un tour par Venouse pour visiter la Grange de Beauvais. Le monastère de l’Abbaye de Pontigny disposait d’un important patrimoine foncier, dont l’essentiel est regroupé en « celliers » et en « granges ». Celles-ci étaient habitées et mises en valeur par les frères convers. Une association « la grange de Beauvais » assure la restauration et l’animation du lieu. Un jardin d’inspiration médiéval, un conservatoire de la vigne tels sont, entre autres, ses projets qui verront bientôt le jour.

> Plus d’informations sur le Grange de Beauvais

Partez à la découverte de Chablis avec son circuit historique fléché au sol.
Emportez avec vous lors de votre visite le guide « Il était une fois… l’Histoire de Chablis » et suivez la flèche ! Vous y découvrirez la magnifique Collégiale Saint-Martin (XIIIe siècle) dont la porte sud de caractère roman est recouverte d’une centaine de fers à cheval, vous apprendrez qu’en 1478 fut créée à Chablis l’une des cinq premières imprimeries françaises, vous visiterez la Synagogue magnifiquement restaurée et devenue un lieu de culte. Vous apprendrez que la Porte Noël tient son nom du maçon qui l’a construite ou bien encore qu’autrefois la ville comptaient vingt-neuf tours, trois ponts levis, trois poternes. Livret en vente à l’Office de Tourisme.

> Plus d’informations sur le patrimoine de Chablis

Votre soirée s’achève par un dîner gastronomique à l’Hostellerie des Clos,  une très belle étape au cœur du vignoble de Chablis.

> L’hostellerie des clos
> Retrouver tous les restaurants

Découvrez les richesses de notre territoire